“No Poo” challenge, DIY natural shampoo/conditioner

So what on earth is the above picture of? My Shampoo I’m using! It’s simply 1 cucumber and 1 lemon blended up…yes it really does work as a shampoo/conditioner. And to be honest….I’ve been using it for about a month now and my hair is probably the best it’s been in a while. I got the idea for this recipe from http://www.loving-it-raw.com/homemade-shampoo.html Now how this recipe works is lemons are naturally a great cleaner; and as for the cucumbers, they act as a conditioner. So the two together are all you really need on your hair. The site also touches on a couple of other great recipes, one of which I’ve tried my self. This one is a conditioner made up of simply about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar put in with a cup of water. Shake it up and use it about once or twice a week. I tried it myself and after rinseing it out and drying my hair I asked my friend to sniff my hair for any trace of scent of vinegar and she couldn’t smell any! I really suggest if you want to go all natural on the shampoo and conditioner you check out the above resource. Also, if you do decide to give up shampoo and conditioner, your hair and the new treatment may not get along immediately. Just tough it out for a week or two, after that you should be able to see its benefits! I used to need to shower every second day or my hair would get too greasy, but now I can often go 3 days before I need to shower.

Now I feel I need to add some explanation to answer the question as to why am I doing this. I’m doing because I’m taking a course at college right now around environmental sociology and as part of it, I’m writing a paper on giving up all body products for 2 months, that I have not made myself. However I should not make the project sound like such a nuisance as it really is a lot of fun to go through the challenge!  As well it’s honestly not even as hard as a challenge as I thought! I’m hoping to offer in future a few more recipes in terms of natural body products because reading the labels on many of these store-bought products…it’s scary what they put in some things…

If you have any questions about this or any other body product recipe that I’m using ask away below! I’m happy to share my secrets!

5 Comments

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog today! I agree with you on reading about “no poo”.. although it did take me about a month to adjust, I attribute it to the extreme hard water in my home. I am going to try out your recipe this week though I think!

  2. I’d love to hear about how it works out for you!

  3. Rona

    Just what I was looking for! 🙂 I’ve started
    the “No-Poo” movement for about 2 months now and reaping the benefits and love it!!! I remember reading about this as well on loving-it-raw.com and since then I have been wanting to incorporate the cucumber and lemon recipe into my routine, maybe every few weeks. Do you use the cucumber and lemon as your shampoo all the time? Just wondering if I could use this from time to time when I’m not using the baking soda and apple cider vinegar.

    • I use it all the time personally, but it should work fine as well from time to time as the baking soda and apple cider vinegar are pretty effective on their own 🙂

      • Anonymous

        Thanks so much. I just my first batch, smells divine!

        -Rona

Leave a Reply

